The grass is greener…

How much do we live our lives wanting something that we don’t have? Looking at something that someone else has and wishing for it as our own? Creating a dream that MUST be better than what we are living? I think we all do it, some more than others. Recently, in reading a wonderful blog (I can’t find the specific link at the moment..) I came across this amazing statement:

“The grass is greener where you water it. So water this moment with your love and appreciation.”

I am so guilty of wishing for something different than what I have. Yes, I had an affair recently. Yes, I thought that this other person was everything that I didn’t have and that I needed in my life. It was my ultimate “grass is greener” moment. The recovery from that situation and its aftermath has been a difficult road. I have faced some painful truths. I have reevaluated almost every part of my life. And yet, through all of that pain, I have emerged with a growing inner strength that I never had before. A wise woman has told me that all things in life, even if they are painful, give us gifts. I have definitely emerged with gifts after this experience.

So, back to watering my grass… I was in the shower the other day, mulling over things as I often do in the shower, and my former other man came to mind and started buzzing around again. And I stopped and thought “What was it that you wanted out of that, really?” The answer? I wanted someone to have that fairy tale with… a love that would overcome all obstacles (that relationship definitely had obstacles) and a man who would do anything to be with me. You know what?? When I really think about it, I already do have that! I have an amazing man (my husband) who would and has done anything to be with me. And our love has overcome huge obstacles… including this affair mess. I am so blessed to have this love and I now know that I need to nurture the grass that I already have… because it really is quite beautiful!

So much truth…
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Ginger… « Me and Getting Better
  2. tardispunkie
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 17:44:38

    Huggles! This is brilliant! I love it when you share your insights!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

